200+ Sonatas for cello and piano with Peter Somodari & Nicolas Constantinou, 20/9/21

Sonatas for cello and piano

Péter Somodari | principal cellist of the Wiener Philharmoniker
Nicolas Costantinou | piano

Monday, 20 September 2021 | 20:00
Strovolos Municipal Theatre

LMS invites you to a chamber music recital with works for cello and piano with renowned Péter Somodari, principal cellist of the Wiener Philharmoniker and pianist Nicolas Costantinou. The repertoire centres on works spanning a period of two hundred five years, covering, thus, a significant scope of the rich history of works for this combination of instruments. The concert begins with the Sonata No. 4 in C major by Ludwig van Beethoven, the composer who first composed for the two instruments. Written in 1815, the Sonata is a striking example of all those innovations that make up the composer’s late period; fantasy and simplicity are juxtaposed with rigorous contrapuntal textures. Exactly a century later and in the midst of the First World War, Claude Debussy composed his own sonata, which divulges Debussy’s appeal to the models of the French ‘classicists’ of the 18th century and to the great Viennese composers. The Sonata’s musical classicism and syntax merge with the composer’s ‘symbolist’ aesthetics and highly original exploration of harmonic language and colouristic textures. Gabriel Fauré’s Élégie, originally intended as the slow movement of an unrealised cello sonata, is a masterful, lucid and transparent masterpiece. The concert concludes with Cypriot composer, Constantinos Stylianou’s Sonata in C major, which was composed in 2020, during the general lockdown against COVID-19. Written in three movements, the Sonata is full of lyricism, energy, humour and passion. This performance also marks its world premiere.

Ludwig van Beethoven: Sonata for piano and cello No. 4, Op. 102/1 (1815)
Gabriel Fauré: Elegy, for cello and piano, Op. 24 (1883)
Claude Debussy: Sonata for cello and piano, (1915)
Constantinos Stylianou: Sonata for cello and piano (2020)

www.soldoutticketbox.com | Stephanis Stores
Full-price €15 | Concessions* €10
* LMS members, pensioners, full-time students, soldiers

Important notice:  We encourage patrons to purchase tickets in advance as seating is limited and assigned numerically. Alternatively, patrons may purchase available tickets or returns at the box office only on the evening of the performance.

99744227 | info@ledramusic.org | www.ledramusic.org

ΧΟΡΗΓΟΙ: Πολιτιστικές Υπηρεσίες Υπουργείου Παιδείας, Άλφα Μέγα